Gold Standard

Effective health and well-being programs are constantly evolving. Health benefits and well-being programs must adapt to keep pace as an organization grows, mission priorities change, and corporate and community cultures shift. The Gold Standard framework and application now reflect this dynamic.

Rather than a simple pass/fail accreditation, the Gold Standard Journey now captures and celebrates an organization’s evolving commitment to the health and well-being of its employees, their families and communities.

What is the Gold Standard?

The Gold Standard is a workplace wellness accreditation program developed by the CEO Roundtable on Cancer that encourages and celebrates organizations committed to reducing the risk and burden of cancer among employees, families, and communities. The Gold Standard offers an evidence-based framework for organizations to provide a healthier workplace by focusing on cancer risk reduction, early detection and high-quality care.

The Gold Standard is based on the latest scientific evidence and evolves to ensure the framework that promotes the adoption of the best benefits and policies to maximize positive health outcomes for employees, families and communities.

Over 200 private, non-profit and government organizations, large and small, from diverse industries, have earned Gold Standard accreditation, including the National Cancer Institute (NCI), the federal government’s principal agency for cancer research and training, and many NCI- designated cancer centers.

There are no membership costs or fees associated with becoming a Gold Standard organization.

Why Gold?

Business leaders know cancer affects their workforces, and research confirms some very sobering facts about cancer’s impact on workers and their families. But there is encouraging news: nearly half of all cancer deaths can be prevented.

As the second largest provider of health insurance coverage in the United States, employers can play a pivotal role in reducing cancer incidence and premature death. The leader of any organization, especially the Chief Executive Officer, is uniquely positioned to make a difference in the lives of their employees, their families and their communities.

Learn More

The Five Pillars

The online Gold Standard Accreditation Application requires organizations to demonstrate their health benefits and workplace culture, including extensive, concrete actions in five key areas known as the Five Pillars:

1. Health Education and Navigation
2. Prevention and Early Detection
3. Advancing Treatment
4. Survivorship
5. Well-Being